Welcome to The Art Institute of Houston Library!

Welcome to The Art Institute of Houston's New Building!
4140 Southwest Freeway
2nd Floor
Houston, TX 77027
713-860-4375
Fax: 713-966-2701
aihlibrarystaff@aii.edu
Staff
Elene Gedevanishvili
Library Director
713-353-4143
egedevanishvili@aii.edu
Paul Smith
Library Assistant
713-353-4142
pjsmith@aii.edu
Search the World's Largest Digital Library on Google Books!
Check Out The New Learning Express Library!
- Learning Express Library (Includes Job and Career Accelerator)
You can only access this amazing tool for student and career success, through the Library tab on the home page of your MyAiCampus.
Click on the Find By Resource tab at the top & click on the All Resources tab and scroll down to Learning Express Library.
New Books and Book Reviews!
- by Sonia Torralba AiH Graphic design student
This is not a book for a beginning artist. The examples within are not so much intended as "follow along" draw techniques, but as a sample of a type of work flow that could be adapted and incorporated into your own. At least I think that is more the intent of them, but if nothing else just the artwork alone is nice inspiration. This won't take you through the basics of drawing, and it is very specific... science fiction concept artwork... in its subject matter. If you need basics, you have to look elsewhere... but for a more advanced art student, or even industry pro, this is a nice inspirational book that you might pick up a tip or two from.
That said… this is a fine place to begin to understand fantasy design for games and movies. Francis Tsai does a wonderful job of breaking down the fundamentals and helping the reader to grasp what makes an effective image. You get an insight into what it takes to work in the industry and what will be expected of you.
by Logan Hill - AIH Graphic Design Student
The New Art Institute Portal Library
It's Here! , you no longer are limited to logging into the Art Institute Databases off-site by using usernames and passwords! They have also migrated into the MyAicampus portal homepage and are authenticated through a proxy server, so the only passwords you will need to remember is your MyAiCampus login! All of the Databases are searchable from A-Z or by program, and all resources come with downloadable detailed instruction tutorials.
Merriam Websters' Word of the Day - "Word Up!"
- Merriam-Webster - Word of the Day
Learn a new word a day and test your vocabulary, from one of the best online dictionaries!
Area Libraries for Even More Resources
You may need to consult other libraries when looking for more information!
- The Houston Public Library
The Houston Public Library has 43 branches in the Houston area. HPL's Power Card gives students full access to all library services, including the ability to check out books, audiobooks, DVDs, and CDs and renew them online. You may want to visit the downtown branch for books on the decorative arts, but they can transfer the books to a branch closer to you! - Houston Public Library 24/7 Reference Service
HPL also provides 24/7 online reference, available whenever you need assistance! Broaden your access to reference help anytime, and anywhere. You can access HPL's professional reference librarians instantly through live chat, texting e-mail or by phone. - Houston Public Library Branch LocatorUse HPL's Branch Locator to quickly find the nearest branch of the Houston Public Library from wherever you are.
- The Museum of Fine Arts Hirsch & Bayou Bend Powell Library
The Hirsch Library for Art Research at the Museum of Fine Arts Houston is open to the public and one of the largest art reference libraries in the Southwest, the library's reference collection includes books and periodicals on fine arts, decorative arts, and photography, as well as catalogs from museums, commercial galleries, and auction houses. There is also professional reference assistance available!
The new Powell Library at Bayou Bend is an archive library on American Decorative art.
Reader's Advisory
- Library Thing Book Suggester
Don't know what to read next? Use Library Thing's excellent search tool, Book Suggester. Simply type in the books or the authors that you do like and it will suggest titles for you!
Library Hours
| Mon - Thursday | 8:00am - 8:00pm |
| Friday | 8:00am - 5:00pm |
| Saturday | 10am - 2pm |
| Sunday | Closed |
Houston Art & Culture Scene Calendar
Check out the cool online flipbook version of The Houston Press Annual 2012 Houston Arts Calendar. Get the big picture of all of the upcoming arts events ahead of time!
Houston has a rich and vibrant Arts scene, check out the calendar below that lists various arts events that relate to your program of study.
Ask Us a Question with LibAnswers!
Didn't Find What You Were Looking For?
Currently enrolled students are always welcome to request items for The Art Institute of Houston Library.
You can e-mail or call the Library Director:Elene Gedevanishvili
713-353-4143
egedevanishvili@aii.edu
or simply come by the Library and fill out a request form.
Please state in your e-mail or when you fill out the form why you would like us to add this item to the Library collection.




Loading...
