AiCA-SF Library Catalog
Searching for Images
The library has thousands of books and magazines containing photographs, illustrations, clip art, line art, and many other images. Try adding the words "pictorial works" or "decoration & ornament" to your keyword search in the library catalog.
Magazines
Most of our magazines are image-based. These are some of the titles that are most useful for finding photographs, illustrations, and fashion photography.
Looking for More?
The American Library Association maintains this extensive list of links to online image collections sorted by subject area. Any link not marked with a lock can be accessed without a password. Check the terms and conditions of use for each site before using images in your projects.
Online Library Resources
- Berg Fashion LibraryProvides a databank of images related to fashion.
- elibrary Includes an extensive collection of current and historical photographs. Low resolution.
- Getty Images Provides access to over 600,000 royalty-free stock photography images and video clips in both high and low resolution. Check the library portal for the current username and password, which changes quarterly. Faculty and staff contact the library for access.
- Material ConneXion A materials image library that contains over 5,000 images in eight categories – polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cement-based, natural, carbon-based, and processes.
- Oxford Art Online Find images from art and art history.
- StyleSight Articles, reviews, images, videos, Pantone colors and textiles from the latest and upcoming fashion trends. Also includes royalty free backgrounds, inspirational images, and clip art.
Photography & Illustrations
- CG Textures Textures for use in animation and as backgrounds.
- Flickr: Creative CommonsSearch for images on Flickr released for use under Creative Commons licenses.
- Liam's Pictures From Old BooksAlmost 3,000 high-resolution images scanned from public domain books. Includes illustrations, borders, decorative elements, and alphabets.
- morgueFile Stock photography provided free for all uses, including commercial.
- Open Clip Art Library
- Open Font LibraryLibrary of fonts distributed under the Open Font License.
- stock.xchngStock photography site includes both free and low-cost microstock images.
- VeerFree photography, illustrations, and fonts. The company also provides a larger collection of images for sale.
Fine Arts & Art History Images
- Art Images for College Teaching Images of public domain artworks provided for free use by teachers and students.
- Google Art ProjectFine arts images from museums around the world.
- Victoria & Albert Museum CollectionsImages of fine and decorative arts from this museum, available for educational use.
Historical Images
- American MemoryArchive from the Library of Congress includes many historical photographs and film stills.
- California Cultures An archive of images, multimedia, and other primary sources focusing on California's multicultural heritage.
- NYPL Digital Gallery Images scanned from the vast collection and archives of the New York Public Library.
- San Francisco Historical Photo Collection Provided by the San Francisco Public Library. View digitized pictures online or visit the library to see special exhibits and the complete collection.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Director of Library Services Jamie A. MacInnis Memorial Library 415-276-4012 (direct) 415-276-4010 (main) Send Email Subjects: Audio Production, Baking & Pastry, Computer Animation, Culinary Arts & Management, Digital Film & Video Production, Game Art & Design, Interior Design, Media Arts & Animation, Visual & Game Programming Your school name: Art Institute of California - San Francisco |
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Art Institute of California San Francisco Jamie A. MacInnis Memorial Library 1170 Market St. San Francisco, CA 94103 415.276.4011 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
